Homemade

Last night I had my first attempt at making something that I usually buy boxed. Last night I made mac and cheese from scratch. The final product was not the same as the Velveeta Shells and Cheese I normally buy, I don’t know how to compare it. The final product was creamy but a little bland and the recipe I used made enough to feed four. I stored the leftovers and I am going to see how it reheats. Next time I think I will search for a different recipe, or maybe just tweak this one to my liking.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

The recipe I used was simple, all I needed was butter, flour, salt, milk and shredded cheese. All things which I already had in my cabinet and refrigerator.

All I did was cook the macaroni to the specifications on the box.

For the sauce I melted 1/4 butter in a pan on the stove.

Then I mixed 1/4 cup of flour and 1 teaspoon salt and poured it into the butter and stirred until it was smooth. Then I added 2 cups of milk and let the mixture thicken. After thick I added two cups shredded cheddar and let that melt. Once the cheese melted I poured it over my pasta.

Not the best meal I have ever eaten, and it could be spiced up with some broccoli or vegetables but overall it was as satisfying, if not more, than the stuff in the box.

Leave a Reply

