Black Dog Syndrome

It is no secret to most that I am an avid animal lover and dogs top the list, with cats making a close second. In May 2009, I got MY first dog. Her name is Trek and she is a black lab/german shepherd mix. She is all black, her coat shines in the sunlight and she weighs a whopping 90 pounds. She is spoiled beyond measure and I love having her around.

The other night when I was reading about shelter dogs, I came across something called Black Dog Syndrome. There is a whole website devoted to the syndrome. Basically it is the concept that black dogs are less likely to be adopted from shelters and that they are euthanized more often than dogs that are not black.

When I read this I was shocked, I think that Trek is the most beautiful dog. She has hazel eyes that are even more beautiful because of  her all black coat and when she is clean and brushed her coat shines bright and when she is not clean it helps hide the dirt…

The website Blackpearldogs.com states that there are many reasons why black dogs are chosen less than dogs of a different color, here they are:

1) Harmful Superstitions
2) Negative Labels
3) Fear
4) Just too ordinary
5) Over heat quicker in outdoor sport competitions

And the following are the top 10 reason to adopt a big black dog

10) We cannot clash with your furniture or clothing (and some of you actually worry about that).
9) We cannot clash with any collar  you might choose either!  Ditto for the bandannas.
Accessorize us!
8) Ease of vacuuming!  You can quickly spot the areas of most urgent need.
7)We hide the dirt well (doesn’t mean we don’t need that bath after a messy play but your                     guests won’t be able to see it so quickly).
6) We make an excellent “backdrop” for a second lighter colored dog (if you choose to have one).
5) Availability!!!  We are available now at every shelter or rescue you can imagine, in every age                             bracket with no long waiting lists or difficult search.
4) No annoying queries of “exactly what kind of dog is that anyhow?”  People are content with “big black dog” and don’t ask anymore questions.
3) EXCELLENT night walk protection.  The “bad guy” won’t see us till it’s too late!
2) Status symbol potential.  Black pearls are the most costly you know……
1) WE NEED YOU!

So now that you are educated on black dogs. Feel free to adopt one, and take it from me, they are the best.

3 responses to “Black Dog Syndrome

  1. Very interesting! I had no idea there was such a thing. I must admit people (mainly UPS drivers) are more nervous around Rosquito, my black 160lb Great Dane, than his brother, Sir Harles Barkley, who’s the same size but white with black spots. I think I’m going to run a few experiments.

  2. One of our goats, Coal, is black, and in some ways I like him better. He is shy and gets bullied by the other one, even though he is bigger. He is more affectionate than his brother – if you kneel next to him he’ll lean up against you.

    http://richardbarron.net/dd/goats/

  3. I don’t even like dogs and I think trek is cute… y’all are both on my fridge! =)
    I’d never have guessed there was such a thing or that black dogs don’t get adopted as often as other dogs!
    I’m so glad I got to see you last week; I miss you already! I love keeping up with our blogs! ❤ you tons!

Leave a Reply

