Three Jewells

Cynthia Jewell, Dempsey Jewell and Auntie Jewell

So one of the biggest honors ever bestowed upon me was something that happened before I can even remember. I was named after my Auntie Jewell.

When I was a child I did not understand what a big deal this was but as I have grown up and got to know my Auntie Jewell I have realised what a big deal it is. My Auntie Jewell is one of the best people I know. Going to her house at the farm is one of the most consistent things in my life. No matter what goes on I can expect at least one summer trip to the farm. And I can rest assured that it will smell, look and feel the same every time I visit. And each time I arrive at the farm I can count on a huge hug from Auntie Jewell.

Auntie Jewell always has a smile on her face and love in her heart for everyone she meets. She is not only Auntie Jewell to my family but she is Auntie Jewell to everyone, her fellow church goers, people in town and even her doctors know her as Auntie Jewell. She is some what of an institution in her small town in Kansas.

Recently,  my cousin Joe and his wife Danica had a daughter, Dempsey Jewell, she was granted the same honor to be named after such a wonderful woman.

Leave a Reply

