Far to Long

So it has been far to long since I updated this blog. That was made apparent by Richard Barron, a man I know through my job. He is a photographer, among many other things and he told me at a track meet earlier this month that I should update my blog more often. So, here I am, updating.

A lot has happened since my last post. I ran the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon in April with my mom. She again beat me, not by much this time. I finished in my best time yet and I signed up for my next marathon, the Duke City Marathon in Albuquerque. I am excited to be running this race in October, and luck for me it falls on the week of fall break for the area schools so there will not be any conflicts with my football schedule for work. Yes!

I have decided that I want to try to run a marathon in all 50 States. They have clubs for people who finish this task and it sounds like something fun to do. There is no time limit and you can declare to the club that you want to be a member after you finish ten states. New Mexico will be my third behind Oklahoma and Texas. I think that if all goes well in New Mexico I will be shooting to run in the St. Jude’s Marathon in Memphis in December. That will make four.

Mother’s Day has just passed. I got my mom some flowers. I never really know what to get my parents for Mother’s Day or Father’s Day. While the flowers are pretty they do not do justice to what my mom does for me. She is constant support and a year round friend and only giving her one day and some flowers does not seem to be enough.

My dog is doing great. She is a constant joy in my life. She is starting to lose the puppy in her a tad, she is not as hyper as she used to be and is fine with a nice of snuggling on the couch. I was nervous about getting her, my first dog, last year about this time, but now I can’t imagine my life with out her. She is my buddy.

Last week we had tornadoes rip through Seminole County, they hit the Varnum school then the airport just north of town and went on to tear through Cromwell to the northeast of town. Trek and I went storm damage finding after the tornado had passed through Seminole. We drove up to the air port then turned around headed by Varnum and up through Cromwell and back down through Wewoka and on to Bowlegs then home. She did fairly well, although she stayed in the car while I jumped out to get pictures. The damage was surreal, but is seems as though people are starting to put their lives back in order. Now if the rest of the seasons storms can just steer clear of us.

Last Tuesday my dad’s house was slightly damaged by some high winds/tornadoes up in the northeastern part of the state. It tore the skylight off his porch and the fence out of his back yard but he is fine and just happy it did not do more damage than that. He was defiantly glass half full about the situation.

Well, that is enough for this post. Later I will write about my new favorite kitchen appliance!

One response to “Far to Long

  1. For readers wondering who Richard R. Barron is, here is my shameless plug:

    http://richardbarron.net/

Leave a Reply

